Serial Murder

Five Bagatelles for Agatha Christie

for flute and trombone (2016)

duration: 5'


program note

Serial Murder is inspired by the murder mystery novels of Agatha Christie and gains its name from the compositional technique used to create it – serialism. Each movement represents a different Hercule Poirot story spanning the length of Christie’s career from her first Poirot novel to her last, published after her death. The suite is designed to be playful and performer exaggeration and over-theatricality is encouraged.


I. A Mysterious Affair – A Mysterious Affair at Styles

II. The Cat and the Pigeon – Cat Among the Pigeons

III. Third Movement Tragedy – Three Act Tragedy

IV. With Milk and Sugar? – Black Coffee

V. Curtain Call – Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case


audio sample

Serial Murder - The Cat and the Pigeon - James Mountain
Serial Murder - Curtain Call - James Mountain